Day 4 – The fragrant town of Rotorua

So I think I’m finally getting the hang of driving on the left side of the road. After spending three days in the Auckland area, Ryan and I drove south to explore the fragrant town of Rotorua (a.k.a. Sulphur City) which is built on a volcanic field. Today we took a walking tour of the city, spent some time in Rotorua’s beautiful Government Gardens, and explored Kuirau Park’s thermal activity (boiling mud pools, steamy gas, and fumaroles). Some say that the smelly sulphurous air is good for you (note: it smells like rotten eggs). We soaked our feet in the Kuirau Park’s hot springs and afterwards they felt so soft. The hot springs at Rororua are magical!

IMG_0447IMG_0462

9 Responses to “Day 4 – The fragrant town of Rotorua”

  1. well if the smell is good for you Tania must be healthy as a horse (being around my smell so often)🙂

  2. Amazing pictures. I am so glad you are guys are doing this. I have friends from work who think it is so cool! They are gonna follow your adventures and check out all of the awesome pictures!! It looks so beautiful!!

    Matt

  3. kumudinie Says:

    Hey You 2;
    Great pix and Nivanthi says “I am so jeolous” – Translation is “I wish I can go too”. Water falls and beaches reminds me of Sri Lanka.
    If the smell is so good for you, we should be doing so great these days. Doggie got Skunked on Friday night (jan 7th) and After a few baths and other things we still can smell skunk in he house. Just wonder if we are smelling like skunks too🙂
    Lookng forward to follow your journey through your blog.
    Kumudinie

    • Oh no… poor doggie🙂 I did read somewhere once that rubbing the dog in tomatoes should help get the smell out… please tell Nivanthi I said hello…

      • in all seriousness…. summer’s eve works wonders. recommended by a vet many years ago when our dog got sprayed. it worked well! tomato bath is a recommended solution as well

  4. Thanks Jola and Charles for suggestions. I will stock up on those. We used vinegar, baking soda and dis soap as suggested in a blog which were the only things we had in the house. I will sure to stock up on Summer’s Eve and tomato juice. Also heard Hydrogen peroxide, baking soda and dish soap mixture is also good (recepe found on internet).

Leave a Reply

